Self-awareness has gone out the window on Facebook by Felicity Fox

I may be preoccupied with my own two little terrors but I’d like to think I’ve not lost sight of myself and how I portray this to the world. I’m sorry to say many people have.

Call me a hypocrite for spending one-too-many hours trailing through Facebook, and I do love it but some of my fb friends and friends of friends, you know who you are, show a whole new side to themselves. And it’s not only their alter ego they are exposing, it’s everything else on show. Not wanting to get crude about it but little’s left to the imagination, if at all. Sadly it’s not just my peers I’m talking about, it’s my elders too.

Don’t get me wrong we all like to engage in a bit of Facebook stalking and it’s lovely to see wedding pics, newborn babies and fun nights out, and I myself have posted all the above, sharing only the best bits. I too wouldn’t share the mundane reality: a trip to Morrisons, potty training, the tantrums, the washing, the run of the mill – basically my life. No, no, no Facebook is no place for honesty, it’s about showing your closest 1,000 friends and family the life you want, not the life you have. Popularity too is important, it’s shameful to only have few friends on this, you must acquire as many as you can. Beware, the danger in this is you are exposing yourself to a mass audience and opening yourself up for criticism, like it or not.

If you’ve got it, flaunt it seems to be the message. And plenty seemingly do. Being a poser used to be a character trait that you would never want to be labelled as. Now apparently all shapes, sizes and egos are welcome here. Posting literally hundreds of pictures of oneself is commonplace not to mention boring. Teachers straddling cars, bikini after bikini shots, and a lot of pouting like a trout goes on, D-list celebrities look tame in comparison.

Friends in life become your worst nightmare online, it’s a case of look at me, oh it’s me again, look how much fun I’m having, me again, does my bum look big in this? It’s tragic. Don’t they know potential employers look at this?

Ask yourself this before you post, what would your mother think? Not everything needs to be public property.

21 thoughts on “Self-awareness has gone out the window on Facebook by Felicity Fox”

  1. I just say such a relief to discover somebody who actually knows what theyre talking about online. You definitely know how to bring a concern to light and make it important. More people need to see this and understand why side in the story. I cant believe youre not popular since you definitely contain the gift.

  2. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or advice. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read even more things about it!

  3. I just say what a relief to discover someone that actually knows what theyre talking about online. You need to know how to bring a concern to light and make it important. More people need to see this and appreciate this side in the story. I cant believe you aren’t popular because you definitely have the gift.

  4. Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you ever been running a blog for? you made blogging glance easy. The total look of your web site is fantastic, neatly as the content material!

  5. Hello, My personal thoughts on this material are that it’s well-written, intelligent and easy to understand. I appreciate this kind of useful information, especially when it is this good. In time your site will discover its potential. Thanks.

  6. I just want to mention I am very new to blogs and honestly loved your page. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You absolutely come with very good posts. Kudos for sharing with us your web site.

  7. I just want to tell you that I am very new to blogs and seriously liked your website. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog post . You certainly come with beneficial well written articles. Thanks a lot for sharing your blog site.

  8. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, good site!

  9. I just want to say I am just newbie to blogs and honestly loved this page. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You absolutely come with excellent articles. Bless you for revealing your webpage.

Leave a Reply

