I’m so vain but so clever by Felicity Fox

As PR stunts go, this is the biggest one I have seen lately. Who would have known the name Samantha Brick last week? Not I for one. Inspired to write the “I’m so Beautiful” article because she is obviously so beautifully modest, this Jezebel took to the stage i.e. the Daily Mail not to snub women but to get everyone talking about her.

Who cares if she’s beautiful or not? Whether there is a sisterhood? Or whether we are all stabbing each other in the back? This stunt paid off. She set herself up. In one single article she’s managed to publish herself, get 50,000 Facebook hits in a day, and millions talking about her online.

Ok she’s not winning the popularity vote but I doubt this was a concern when she took to telling the World that she’s the envy of everyone. I’m a part-time writer and housewife she declared on Primetime, and more importantly, I’m sitting right where I want to be on ITV’s sofa. Like she would have been invited if she hadn’t caused an uproar?

We’ve seen it all before. Celebrity Big Brother, I’m in a Jungle, I’m a Big Fat Gypsy, I, I, I, me, me, me. Sam, Sam, Sam. Sam is a talking point this week, perhaps not next week or is she?

She’s deplorable, yes. But she’s raised her profile and is probably signing the book deal right now, You and Hello no doubt fighting for the next outlandish statement from this media charlatan.

Does she have a point? I don’t think that is the point. She’s said the unthinkable and it’s got us all writing and talking about her. And that’s it. Celebrities do it all the time, talk about themselves and their wee worlds until something better, younger and prettier comes along, and I’m afraid for Samantha too, there will be always be someone who’s willing to sink a little lower than the depths she’s reached. This is one crown that’s full of thorns….

20120410-221032.jpg

3 thoughts on “I’m so vain but so clever by Felicity Fox”

  1. I simply want to say I am newbie to weblog and certainly enjoyed this page. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You really come with perfect posts. Thanks for sharing with us your blog site.

Leave a Reply

