Bumpty Bumpty Bump – For the Camel that should have been a Donkey

ImageI’m like a meerkat watching mine. Mine being my son, the Innkeeper. Not a starring role, but there’s always next year and maybe I’ll join the PTA.

I shouldn’t, but I only have eyes for one. And seated next to me they’re leaning forward. My peripheral vision is blurred by an iPad. I can’t see my Innkeeper. I can’t see him. There are now hundreds of them on stage. Where is he? Stop leaning. Is it me or is it very hot in here? Oh, “there he is.” My son, my first born. Born in an NHS stable. I can see him. It must be the star.

My Arafat in the distance. Across the stage, my red tea towel dons his beautiful head. And I relax happily into my seat. They’re leaning forward. Not again. In the spirit of Christmas, shouldn’t we be sharing?

So, I’m leaning and stretching and doing the down dog, just to catch a glimpse of his singing. “Bumpty bumpty bump, riding on a camel”, I could have sworn it was a donkey…bumpty bumpty bump, looking for the baby Jesus.” My heart soars at every line, as I sing silently along. There in the distance, stretched across the plains, i.e the stage, my son.

This is it. The first school nativity play.

“Oh lovely, the angels are here to guide the way.” “That’s nice.” Awwhh….just a little to the left sweeties, I can’t see my keeper. Just a few steps. There are hundreds of them, like Andrex littering the stage. There are only four innkeepers, you’re doing alright son. Next up the wise men; Goldie, Frankie and I never can remember the last one.

They’re all so cute and lovely, but to be honest it’s tunnel vision and I’m planked at the wrong side of the room. Joseph and Mary are centre stage and the baby is away in a Manger, but my little innkeeper like everyone else’s Andrex, wise men and the camel that should be a donkey, is all that I can see and a star is born.

26 thoughts on “Bumpty Bumpty Bump – For the Camel that should have been a Donkey”

  1. Just wish to say your article is as surprising. The clearness in your post
    is simply spectacular and i could assume you
    are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to
    date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please
    keep up the gratifying work.

  2. Hi there, of course this paragraph is in fact fastidious and I have learned lot of things from it on the topic
    of blogging. thanks.

  3. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading
    it, you happen to be a great author.I will be sure to
    bookmark your blog and will eventually come back at
    some point. I want to encourage you to definitely
    continue your great job, have a nice afternoon!

  4. I wanted to thank you for this excellent read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it.
    I have got you book marked to check out new things you post…

  5. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost
    a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Many thanks

  6. I am really loving the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever
    run into any browser compatibility problems? A handful of my
    blog audience have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari.
    Do you have any suggestions to help fix this problem?

  7. Hello There. I discovered your weblog using
    msn. This is a really smartly written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back
    to read extra of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I’ll certainly return.

  8. Good day! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading your blog posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same topics? Thanks for your time!

Leave a Reply

